Free Guided Follies Walk in St. Anne's Park

17 Aug 2015

(Image source:

To mark National Heritage Week 2015, Raheny Heritage Society will host a free walking tour of the follies in St. Anne's Park. 

The follies, which date back as far as 1838, were mainly constructed during the period of ownership of Sir Benjamin Lee Guinness, who introduced an Italian Renaissance style within the grounds. One of the more popular features of the collection is the Herculanean Temple which can be found on the banks of the picturesque duck pond. 

This walking tour, hosted by historian and author Joan Ussher Sharkey, will take place next Sunday 23rd August at 2.30pm. It will last two hours and is completely free of charge, and booking is not required. 

Those wishing to take part should meet at the entrance to the Red Stables at the aforementioned time. For more information contact Brian Way, on 086 160 5099.